One of the scientific world's most respected environmental prizes

Jury sees rapid development of research in sustainability

Prize Jury 2020 Members of the Prize Jury in 2019, Professor Will Steffen, Professor Mary Scholes, Professor Kazuhiko Takeuchi, and Professor Peijun Shi. Missing in the picture, is Dr. Sybille van den Hove.

Each year, the Scientific Committee reviews the nominations received and selects a few for the award jury, which makes decisions.

The number of nominations to the Volvo Environment Prize has increased in recent years.

“The field of environment and sustainability research is becoming much broader, larger in scale, and far more complex”, says Will Steffen, chairman of the Prize Jury.

”These are very exciting times, as the need for such research becomes better recognized in the policy and corporate worlds. It is also good for the Volvo Environment Prize, because we are getting so many outstanding candidates and, thus, world-class laureates”.

The jury gives its recommendation to the Board of the Foundation which makes the final decision. The announcement of award-winner is normally made early October and the Volvo Environment Prize award ceremony is in November each year. 

Scientific Committee 2020 Members in the Scientific Committee from a meeting in 2019, Professor Deliang Chen, Professor Carl Folke, Professor Emily Boyd, and Professor Thomas B Johansson. Not in the picture is Professor Katherine Richardson.